Time to Glaze the Pots

April 20, 2009 at 2:45 pm Leave a comment

It's time to start galzing. I usually hit my glaze cycle every 6 weeks or so. This time I have gotten together about 200 pots to do two separate firings in the kiln.  One firing I am going to do a reduction firing.  This is the type of firing I usually do where I get the light blue colors for my celedons and the rich reds for the copper red glazes I use.  I am also going to experiment with an oxidation firing.  In this type of firing I plan on trying to produce more matte glaze surfaces with some crystal growth in the surfaces as well. These crystals will grow if I slow cool the kiln at the right rate. It will be interesting to see how some of the glazes I have been using for years will change based on an increase of oxygen in the kiln during the firing.

Glaze Room with glazes in the buckets

It’s time to start glazing. I usually hit my glaze cycle every 6 weeks or so. Pictured above is the glaze room. This is where I keep all the glazes which produce all the different colors and surfaces for my porcelain work. This time I have gotten together about 200 pots to do two separate firings in the kiln. One firing I am going to do a reduction firing. This is the type of firing I usually do, where the light blue color for my Celedon glazes and the rich reds for the copper red glazes are produced. This time however, I’m also going to experiment with an oxidation firing. In this type of firing I plan on trying to produce more matte glaze surfaces with some crystal growth in the surfaces as well. These crystals will grow if I slow cool the kiln at the right rate. It will be interesting to see how some of the glazes I have been using for years will change based on an increase of oxygen in the kiln during the kiln firing. I’ll post pictures of pots when they come out of the kiln.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Spring Clean Up April 24th Kiln Firing – Cone 9 Reduction

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Inside Plum Bottom keeps you current with the latest images, news and Door County events at Plum Bottom Pottery, a Chad Luberger working studio gallery in Door County, Wisconsin. Featuring images and insight into Luberger’s porcelain pottery and sculpture.

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories


