Another Early Morning. . .

June 21, 2009 at 7:30 am Leave a comment

Today the alarm went off at 5am to get the kiln started in earnest, alas it was not to be. I finally rolled out of bed at 6am and got things rolling. I’m spending the morning catching up on my beloved Green Bay Packers and the news in the world – seems to be a lot going on these days, I suppose there always is – Iran in particular has caught my attention.

Today I will once again fire in oxidation. I will try to avoid the uneven kiln firing I had last time I tried an oxidation firing. I will also experiment again with slow cooling the kiln in hopes of producing more crystalline surfaces on the pots. The reduction firing I did last Thursday went well – I have a really nice group of pots for the Knock Magazine event Friday, hopefully the firing today will yield some more interesting work. After my next kiln adjustment I am going to escape over to the Jacksonport Bakery for a quick bite to eat. I highly recommend the Bakery for their outstanding breakfasts. I love spending Sunday morning there sipping on coffee, reading the paper and enjoying the sunshine.

Entry filed under: Kiln Firing, Porcelain Pottery. Tags: , , .

First Firing for Knock Event Door County Trolley Visits

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Inside Plum Bottom keeps you current with the latest images, news and Door County events at Plum Bottom Pottery, a Chad Luberger working studio gallery in Door County, Wisconsin. Featuring images and insight into Luberger’s porcelain pottery and sculpture.

Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories


